Enos


Αίνος

Enos est la plus haute montagne non seulement à Céphalonie, mais des toutes les îles Ioniennes: son plus haut sommet, Megalos Soros, atteint 1628 mètres de haut. S’étend à la partie orientale de l’île et est couverte dans la plupart des sapins.

Le sapin de Céphalonie

L’épinette noire couverte Enos, tire son nom de l’île et a appelé le monde entier “sapin de Céphalonie”. Des arbres les plus rares d’Europe rencontrés ici avec une telle densité que les Vénitiens fait de nommer la montagne «Monte Nero», à savoir «Noir Montagne». Dans les temps anciens étaient déjà connues les particularités du tronc dur et fort du sapin, il a été principalement utilisé dans la construction navale. C’est la seule forêt de pins sur l’île grecque et l’une des principales raisons d’émergement Enos comme un parc national depuis 1961.

Le parc national: Flore et Faune

Aujourd’hui, vous pouvez arriver en voiture à la limite du parc national, puis continuer à marcher dans les sentiers d’Enos, sur routes à travers la nature et vert, en plus d’admirer les arbres uniques, mais environ 400 espèces de plantes! Parmi ceux-ci, le seul dans le monde ” violette ou Viola de Céphalonie” est une petite fleur pourpre qui pousse dans les fissures des roches, principalement sur “Chionistra” d’Enos. Vous verrez toujours d’arbousiers et de houx, et quelques-unes des 100 espèces d’oiseaux ont été enregistrées: fidaetoi, xrysogeraka, perdrix et les geais, les tétras, les grives et les pics noirs. Deux kiosques touristiques qui répondent à votre visite dans le parc national d’Enos vous offrent des moments de détente, alors qu’il est absolument nécessaire de respecter les règles de fonctionnement, tant que vous y êtes. La plus grande menace pour la forêt est le feu, qui a été la cause principale de la destruction depuis l’Antiquité.

Les chevaux sauvages d’Enos

Si vous êtes chanceux, vous rencontrerez les célèbres chevaux sauvages de Céphalonie: un petit groupe de petits chevaux, Equus caballus, qui vivaient librement dans Enos, en semi-sauvage condition! Surtout après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les villageois qui avaient leurs fermes sur les pentes de la montagne, ils ont laissé leurs chevaux librement, de ne pas les maintenir. Ces chevaux ont été abandonnés parfois complètement au hasard et “tenus à jour dans quelques troupeaux. Les moyens de subsistance aux conditions difficiles de la région ont aidé à créer des caractéristiques morphologiques: taille 1,15-2,25 m, crinière épaisse et de la queue, la poitrine profonde et étroite. Les couleurs habituelles de chevaux sont brun foncé, noir, brun clair et blanc. Les chevaux d’Enos forment les mois d’été de troupeaux des 10-15 personnes, “comme nous le lisons sur le site de l’opérateur de la forêt nationale. La population de chevaux a considérablement diminué aujourd’hui et ont pris des mesures supplémentaires pour les protéger.

Les monastères d’Enos

Sur les pentes du Mont Enos, vous pouvez visiter quelques-uns des plus importants monastères de Céphalonie, à commencer bien sûr du monastère de Saint-Gerasimos  en Omala . De la position Agrapidies vers l’entrée du parc national est le monastère d’Agios Eleftherios, un grand festival qui est ici le mi Juillet. A une altitude de 800 mètres au-dessus_de l’Arginia sur le côté est d’Enos répond le monastère Zoodochos Pigi d’Arginia. Eh bien avec de l’eau propre dans les profondeurs d’Enos assoiffés ici et les visiteurs fidèles. Autour du monastère se trouve l’habitat des chevaux sauvages d’Enos. Aller à Sami maintenant, nous trouvons les ruines de l’abbaye de Grouspa, dédié à Saint-Nicolas. Le monastère a été fondé à la fin du 16ème siècle et a fonctionné jusqu’en 1805. Enfin, un peu plus bas que le sommet d’Enos, vous trouverez des ruines sanctuaire dédié à Ainisios ou Aineios Zeus, citant Hésiode dans son oeuvre.


Checkout more destinations:

GO!

Select Chapters
to show on the map
Select Chapters to show on the map info
You can select as many chapters as you want. Everytime you check one from the list below, the relevant pins are shown on the map. You can come back to change your selection whenever you want. You can select a whole chapters, or some of its subchapterss. Next to each selection you can see the amount of pins that will be shown on the map.
Hide
Show

Enos

Enos is the highest mountain not only of Kefalonia, but also of all the Ionian Islands: its highest peak, Great Soros, reaches the height of 1,628 meters. Extends to the eastern part of the island and it is covered in most of its part by firs.

The fir from Kefalonia

The black fir that covers Enos, got its name from the island and called worldwide ‘fir from Kefalonia’. From the rarest trees of Europe, meet here with such density that made the Venetians to name the mountain «Monte Nero», i.e. “Black Mountain”. Already, in ancient times were known the peculiarities of the hard and strong trunk of the fir tree, so it was mainly used in shipbuilding. It is the only pine forest in Greek island and one of the main reasons indicating Enos as a National Park, since 1961.

The National Park: Flora and Fauna

Today, you can get by car to the limits of the National Park and then continue walking the paths of Enos, ride through nature and green, admiring besides the unique fir trees, but also about 400 species of plants! Among these, the only one in the world “violet from Kefalonia Viola” is a small purple flower that grows in the cracks of rocks, mainly at “Chionistra” of Enos. You will still see arbutus and holly, and some of the 100 bird species that had been recorded: fidaetoi, xrysogeraka, partridges, and jays, grouse, thrushes and black woodpeckers. Two tourist kiosks that will meet in your tour in the National Park of Enos will offer you moments of relaxation, while it is absolutely necessary to respect the Rules of Operation, as long as you’re there. The greatest threat to the forest is fire, which was the main cause of destruction, since ancient times.

The wild horses of Enos

If you are lucky, you will meet the famous wild horses of Kefalonia: a small group of small horses, Equus caballus, who lived freely in Enos, in semi-wild situation! Especially, after the Second World War, the villagers, who had their farms on the slopes of the mountain, left their horses freely, not to maintain them. These horses were abandoned sometime completely at random and “kept up to date in a few herds. Their livelihoods to the hard conditions of the region helped them to create special morphological characteristics: height 1,15-2,25 m, thick mane and tail, deep chest and narrow. The usual colors of horses are dark brown, black, light brown and white. Horses of Enos form in summer a herd of 10-15 people, “as we read on the website of the operator of the National Forest. The populations of horses had been dropped considerably today and have been taken extra measures for their protection.

The monasteries of Enos

On the slopes of Mount Enos, you can visit some of the most important monasteries of Kefalonia, starting of course by St. Gerasimos  in Omala . From the position Agrapidies towards the entrance of the National Park is the monastery of Aghios Eleftherios, grand festival of whom is right here middle of July. At an altitude of 800 meters above Arginia, on the east side of Enos we meet the Monastery of Zoodoxos Pigi of Arginia. A well with clean waters from the depths of Enos thirst here worshippers and visitors. Around the monastery lies the habitat of the wild horses of Enos. Going to Sami  now, we find the ruins of the Abbey of Grouspa, dedicated to Saint Nicholas. The monastery was founded in the late 16th century and operated until 1805. Finally, a little lower than the top of Enos, you will find ruins of sanctuary, dedicated to Zeus Ainisios or Aineios, citing by Hesiod in his work.