Agios Prokopios is a traditional, picturesque village which has been proclaimed a preserved settlement. It is built on a hill surrounded by the. A stroll in the alleyways and the vicinities reveals all the characteristics of the local architecture in the countryside. Some very old houses, dating back to the 17th century and the old churches in the village lend Agios Prokopios an aura of another age and time.
The village was named «Psoraroi» until 1936 and is found in sources from 1381. One of the oldest buildings of the village is the church of Agios Vasileios which is mentioned from the year 1511. Today, the church of Agios Prokopios which has been reconstructed with a castellated bell-tower is also mentioned from the beginning of the 16th century. Furthermore the church of Agia Triada from 1745 is built with a traditional architecture and displays a remarkable icon screen and wall-paintings from the 18th century.
In the south-eastern part of the hill of Agios Prokopios, inside the village, you can see one of the oldest and biggest olive trees of the island, the so-called «olive tree of Agios Prokopis».
In Agios Prokopios there, is a cultural club, which has a choir and a photography team, organizing every now and then, various cultural events. One of the most significant is the feast of Agios Prokopios on July 8th, the festival of Agioi Pantes and also the litany of the two-sided icon of Panagia (Virgin Mary) and of the icon of the Ressurection, which occurs on the second day of the Easter week, Nia Deftera (the New Monday) as the Corfiots call it. This litany is a testimony from 1671.